Category: contest winners

Recommendation by Joe Courtemanche

From Joe Courtemanche, second place in ACM’s 2013 novel contest: In 2012 I entered a writing contest sponsored by Athanatos Ministries. It was an unusual contest in that you had to submit a full manuscript. I chucked my file into the email and promptly went on to the rest of my life. A few months […]

Children’s Book Contest Winners

Athanatos Christian Ministries is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 Children’s Book Contest: FIRST PRIZE Simonetta Carr, for her submission, Anselm of Canterbury Simonetta Carr was born in Italy and has lived and worked in different cultures. A former elementary school teacher, she has home-schooled her eight children for many years. She has […]

2014 Novel Contest Semi-finalists and Finalists

Here are this year’s semi-finalists in ACM’s Christian Novel seven individuals will now have the opportunity to work with ACM staff to refine their work for final submission.  Here is the list: Ainsworth / Clouds of Heaven Barnes / Microchip Bennet / A Fall of Sparrow Franklin / A Change of Plans Rea / Justice […]

2013 Dante Award Ric Hazel A Man Walks Into A Bar

Athanatos Christian Ministries presents the 2013 Dante Award (7th prize) To Ric Hazel Rock Falls, IL (Short Story Category) BIO It all began with Ray Bradbury’s “The Martian Chronicles” and the wise prodding of a seventh grade English teacher. Since then, a love for literature and for bringing thoughts and ideas to life through the medium […]

2013 Dorothy Sayer’s Award Chuck Wasielewski Parable on Thorne Ave

The  Hieropraxis 2013 Dorothy Sayer’s Award (6th Prize) Goes to  Chuck Wasielewski Apalachin, NY (Short Story Category) BIO Chuck Wasielewski lives in beautiful Upstate New York with his wife and children. He enjoys writing stories that are heavily inspired by and teach apologetics. In addition to short stories and writing contests, he is working on […]

2013 JRR Tolkien Award Gail Howitt Quarry

The Athanatos Online Apologetics Academy 2013 JRR Tolkien Award (5th Prize) Goes to Gail Howitt Glendale, AZ (Short Story Category) BIO  Inspired by her High School literature teacher who introduced her to Flannery O’Connor, Gail Howitt began a life-long love affair with the Short Story genre.  She was raised in Hanover Park, Illinois and received […]

2013 Flannery O’Connor Award James Yarbrough Civilized Understanding

The Bard and Book Flannery O’Connor Award (4th Prize) Goes to  James Yarbrough  Plano, TX (Short Story Category) BIO James Yarbrough has worked as an environmental scientist in the Dallas area for over 33 years.  Although he has published and presented  technical papers, he has written fiction sub rosa.  Because having a vigorous Christian faith […]

2013 George MacDonald Award Christine Venzon Retreat

ChristianManuscriptSubmission presents the  2013 George MacDonald Award (3rd Prize) to Christine Venzon Peoria, IL. (Short Story Category) BIO Christine Venzon is a freelance writer currently based in Peoria, IL. A former educational writer now specializes in food and nutrition, especially as they relate to social and economic justice and sustainability. She draws her writing philosophy […]

2013 GK Chesterton Award Colton Moyer King’s Riddle

The Confident Christianity 2013 GK Chesterton Award (2nd Prize) Goes to  Colton Moyer Borger TX (Short Story Category) BIO A native of Borger Texas, who currently resides in Orlando Florida, Colton Moyer is a film major at Full Sail University.  Ever since he picked up a home video camera with his friends at eleven years […]

C.S. Lewis Award 2013 John Hutchinson Descant

The Athanatos Christian Ministries 2013 C.S. Lewis Award 1st Prize Goes to John Hutchinson Springfield, MO (Short Story Category) BIO John Hick, in his work, Evil and the God of Love, states “The fact of evil constitutes the most serious objection there is to the Christian belief in a God of love.” It is this […]

Next Page »