Suggested Readings

Do you want an idea of the sort of stories that will do well in this contest? Would you like some ideas about what qualifies as a ‘Christian’ short story or novel? Below are four useful resources.

1. Story Craft is a book about writing as a Christian and comes highly recommended.

2. Richard Dawkins, Antony Flew, and Mother Teresa Go to Heaven is a collection of short stories written by Anthony Horvath, the Executive Director of Athanatos Christian Ministries- the host of this contest. Apart from reading past winners of the contest, there aren’t many better ways to get an edge on what this contest is looking for! (this is a Kindle / Nook title only. See also this collection, too.)

3. A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Conner. This classic collection of short stories pushes the envelop in Christian fiction. You may not like her style, but every Christian author should be familiar with her writing.

4. The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis. This novella is counted by many Lewis fans one of his best. It is an imaginative exploration of hell and a good example of using fiction to present and explain difficult concepts.

5. Reading Between the Lines by Dr. Gene Edward Veith. Another thorough look at the writing vocation through the perspective a Christian. Pretty meaty, but worth the time you put into it. [Kindle]


6.  The Art of Poetry by Christine Perrin.

7.  By Request Only


Download Published Winners Catalog

2009 Writing Contest Award Winners:

2009 C.S. Lewis Award (1st Prize): Michael Pape, Those Chickens, They Don’t Roost in Some Random Coop in Another State. Anthology:

2009 Fyodor Dostoyevsky Award (3rd Prize): Jamie Greening, Conocation, later included in the anthology The Haunting of Pastor Butch Gregory and other short stories:

2010 Writing Contest Award Winners:

2010 C.S. Lewis Award (1st Prize): Graham Kell, Swimming Blind:

2010 C.S. Lewis Award (1st Prize): Graham Kell, Swimming Blind. Anthology:

2011 Novel Contest Winners:

2011 Novel Contest Winner: Shirley Tucker, Diamonds in the Dust:

2011 Writing Contest Award Winners:

2011 C.S. Lewis Award (1st Prize): Robert Cely, Reading Wine. Anthology:

2012 Short Story and Poetry Contest Winners:

2012 C.S. Lewis Award (1st Prize): David Sable, The God of Oscar’s Misunderstanding. Anthology:

2012 Novel Contest Winners:

2012 Novel Contest Winner: Derek Elkins, Life Unworthy of Life:

2012 Novel Contest 2nd Prize Winner: Chris Morrow, The Devil’s Choir:

2013 Children’s Book Contest Winners:

2013 Novel Contest Winners:

2013 Novel Contest Winner: Robert Milton, Seed of Doubt:

2013 Novel Contest 2nd Prize Winner: Joseph Courtemanche, Assault on Saint Agnes:

2013 Short Story & Poetry Winners:

2013 C.S. Lewis Award (1st Prize): John Hutchinson, Descant. Anthology:

2014 Novel Contest Winners:

2014 Novel Contest Winner: Paul Bennett, A Fall of Sparrows:

2015 Novel Contest Winners:

2015 Novel Contest Winner: Sam Pakan, Jesse’s Seed:

2017 Christian Writing Contest Winners: